author image

HONG KONG, HONG KONG - DECEMBER 14: V, Suga, Jin, JungKook, Jimin, J-Hope and RM of BTS attend the 2018 Mnet Music Awards in Hong Kong at AsiaWorldExpo on December 14, 2018 in Hong Kong, Hong Kong. (Photo by Anthony Kwan/Getty Images)
BTS have helped ring in the new year (Picture: Anthony Kwan/Getty Images)

BTS basically dominated music in 2018, so its only right they helped ring in the new year in Korea.

The idol band performed at the 2018 MBC Gayo Daejejun to ring in 2019, and the ARMY was not disappointed.

RM, Jimin, V, J-Hope, Jungkook, Suga and Jin dressed all in red and black to perform Mic Drop (Remix), and reminded us just what a killer year they have had.

Incorporating their signature slick dance moves and shooting attitude at the cameras, BTS most definitely smashed the performance – and they delivered a sweet surprise at the end.

Instead of dropping a mic, Suga dropped a scroll, which read BTS – Happy new year ARMY in Hangul (the Korean alphabet).

Before the bands performance, the MCs introduced the group as the standard of Hallyu (Korean wave), the textbook of Hallyu and the national representative idol group.

Advertisement Advertisement

BTS have had a huge year in 2018 – hitting number one on the US album charts twice, becoming the first Korean artists to do so.

They also had huge global hits with IDOL and Fake Love, while they sold out their world tour, including two dates in London.

More: K-Pop

This all culminated in BTS being named Artist Of The Year at the Mnet Asian Music Awards, as well as picking up Album Of The Year for Love Yourself: Tear, Best Music Video for IDOL, Best Asian Style and Global Choice.

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

So its no wonder the 2018 MBC Gayo Daejejun tapped them up to perform.

Also at the special were Apink, BTOB, EXO, GOT7, MONSTA X, NCT Dream, Stray Kids, The Boyz, TWICE, Wanna One, WINNER, gugudan, TVXQ, Lovelyz, Red Velvet, MOMOLAND, Baek Ji Young, Bolbbalgan4, Bizzy, Sunmi, Sunwoo Jung A, and SEVENTEEN.

Basically, any K-pop fans dream New Years Eve.

Got a showbiz story?

If you've got a story, video or pictures get in touch with the Entertainment team by emailing us [email protected], calling 020 3615 2145 or by visiting our Submit Stuff page – we'd love to hear from you.

MORE: All Stars 4s latest eliminated queen knows her Snatch Game was horrific

MORE: Thanks to Ariana Grande, Robyn and Carly Rae Jepsen, 2018 has been the year of the break-up banger

Advertisement Advertisement

Original Article

[contf] [contfnew]


[contfnewc] [contfnewc]