Jessica Fox accepted the award on behalf of her Hollyoaks castmates (Picture: ITV)

Hollyoaks won big at the British Soap Awards, with the Channel 4 show taking home the Best Soap gong.

The Chester gang beat out stiff competition from EastEnders, Coronation Street, Emmerdale and Doctors for the top trophy.

And it was an emotional evening for the cast, many of whom were in tears while making their way onto the stage at the Lowry Theatre, in Manchester.

Jessica Fox, who plays Nancy Osborne, accepted the award on behalf of her castmates, telling the crowd: Oh my Goodness, holy crumbs! Im hyperventilating. Thank you so much!

We want to say a massive thank you to all our viewers, all of you up there! All of you voted for us, and as we all get on this stage, were all so excited and thrilled.

I also want to say congratulations to all the other soaps, youve all told amazing stories and worked so hard this year, you make us raise the bar year on year on year.

Hollyoaks at British Soap Awards
The Hollyoaks gang were left in tears over their British Soap Awards win (Picture: ITV)

Our viewers push us to tell really hard-hitting, challenging storylines, she continued. They want to see diversity on their screens and we hope we represent that for you.



I want to say thank you to Brian Kirkwood, our boss, he has such dedication and loves our show. He makes us laugh, cry, shout at your telly, hes just the best man!

Co-star Gregory Finnegan also took home the Best Actor award for his portrayal of James Nightingale, while Adam Woodward (Brody Hudson) won Best Male Dramatic Performance.

Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.

And Nathan Sussex pipped his fellow actors to the post for Villain Of The Year, thanks to his turn as Buster Smith.

shayne ward british soap awards
Shayne Ward won big at the British Soap Awards (Picture: ITV)

Coronation Street raked in a whopping five trophies on the night, including Best Single Episode, Best Storyline and Scene Of The Year – all of which for Shayne Wards (Aidan Connor) male suicide storyline.

Sue Nicholls also landed the Outstanding Achievement gong, thanks to playing Audrey Roberts for the last four decades.

Helen Worth kept it in the on-screen family, collecting Scene Of The Year for Gails monologue.

More: Hollyoaks

Emmerdales Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle) was given the award for Best Actress, with the Tony Warren Award going to Assistant Director Val Lawson.

Kara-Leah Fernandes won big for EastEnders, getting the nod for Best Young Performance for her role as Bailey Baker, as well as Best On-Screen Partnership with Roger Griffiths (Mitch Baker).



While Jean Slater star Gillian Wright took home Best Female Dramatic PerformanRead More – Source

[contf] [contfnew]


[contfnewc] [contfnewc]